Dean Fiona Doyle Elected to the National Academy of Engineering


by Daisy Hernandez

February 8, 2016

Dr. Fiona Doyle, Donald H. McLaughlin Professor of Mineral Engineering in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Dean of the Graduate Division at UC Berkeley, has been elected into the National Academy of Engineering.  Dean Doyle joins 80 new members and 22 new foreign members, announced by the NAE on February 8, 2016.  She was elected in the Earth Resources Engineering division " For contributions to environmentally benign hydrometallurgy leading to separation of metals from solutions and for leadership in engineering education."  Dean Doyle joins Professors George Brimhall (Earth Resources), Doug Fuerstenau (Earth Resources), Eugene Haller (Materials), J. W. Morris, Jr. (Materials), R. Ramesh (Materials), and Rob Ritchie (Materials) as representatives in the NAE from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at UC Berkeley.

Contact Us

Department offices are located in 210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building, in the Northeast corner of campus.


Department of Materials Science and Engineering
210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-1760

Phone: (510) 642-3801
Fax: (510) 643-5792