Professor Birgeneau 2016 Recipient of the National Science Board’s Vannevar Bush Award


by Daisy Hernandez

April 22, 2016

Bob Birgeneau, Chancellor Emeritus and Arnold and Barbara Silverman Distinguished Chair in the Departments of Physics, Materials Science and Engineering and Public Policy, has been selected the 2016 recipient of the National Science Board's Vannevar Bush Award.  The award recognizes Professor Birgeneau's "exceptional public service and scientific leadership - including lifelong, high caliber research committed to the public good, tireless advocacy for the nation's research universities and unrelenting efforts to advance equity and inclusion in higher education and science."  The Vannevar Bush award was initiated in 1980 and honors "truly exceptional lifelong leaders in science and technology who have made substantial contributions to the welfare of the Nation through public service activities in science, technology, and public policy."  Professor Birgeneau joins Professors Glenn Seaborg and Charlie Townes as Berkeley recipients of the award.  More information about the award can be found here and here.

Contact Us

Department offices are located in 210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building, in the Northeast corner of campus.


Department of Materials Science and Engineering
210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-1760

Phone: (510) 642-3801
Fax: (510) 643-5792