MSE 2023-2024 Awards


Each year the MSE department selects recipients for our various undergraduate and graduate awards many based on nominations gathered from MSE students, faculty and staff.


Corrosion Award

Colin Suits
Jason Pracher


Departmental Citation Award

Calton Kong


Elaine Shen Award

Robert Yang
Jennifer Toy
Calton Kong
Yuritza Neri
Brandon Lou


Jing Gui Award

Sydney Hemenway
Xiaochen Yang
Cheng Zhu
Sanchay Gadia
Xu Huang
Yuhang Cai



Materials Science and Engineering Graduate Student Equity and Inclusion Fund (formerly known as the Birgeneau Award)

Mark Ma


Outstanding GSI Award

Perapat Pete Gatenil
Min Chen


Ross Tucker

This award alternates every year between MSE and EECS. EECS will choose a recipient for 2021-2022.


Jane Lewis Fellowship

Mackinzie Farnell
Rohith Srinivaas Mohanakrishnan
Sherrie Qian
Shilong Wang