Ponisseril Somasundaran pic

MSE Alumnus Prof. Ponisseril Somasundaran to Chair Hoover Board of Award

MSE alumnus Prof. Ponisseril Somasundaran (M.S., Ph.D.), who is currently the Lavon Duddleson Krumb Professor of Mineral Engineering in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University, will chair the Hoover Board of Award (representing five engineering organizations: the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). The Hoover board oversees the awarding of the Hoover Medal, which was established in 1929 and is named in honor of the 31st President of the U.S., Herbert Hoover. This award commemorates the civic and humanitarian achievements of engineers and is conferred upon an engineer whose professional achievements and personal endeavors have advanced the well-being of humankind. Past winners include former U.S. Presidents Jimmy Carter and Dwight Eisenhower, Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak, and many others.