Professor Peidong Yang Elected to National Academy of Science


by Catalina Estrada

June 23, 2016

Professor Peidong Yang is one of six UC Berkeley faculty elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) this year.  The NAS is the most prestigious recognition of the contributions of a scientist in the US.  The NAS, along with the National Academies of Engineering and Medicine, provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and related organizations. Professor Yang joins Professors Alivisatos, Banfield and Birgeneau as MSE affiliated faculty who are members of the NAS.  A link to the 2016 NAS announcement can be found here:

Contact Us

Department offices are located in 210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building, in the Northeast corner of campus.


Department of Materials Science and Engineering
210 Hearst Memorial Mining Building
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-1760

Phone: (510) 642-3801
Fax: (510) 643-5792